Skip to main content

Daily Journal's Reader's Choice: How Voting Works & How to Win

Daily Journal's Reader's Choice is an annual best-of public vote run by the Daily Journal for Illinois. The 2026 round stayed open until January 18, 2026, and the previous winners list points to 2024. The ballot sits at the Daily Journal's Shaw Local page. Categories and vote limits are not published; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

Run by: Daily Journal Cadence: annual
Thematic photo for Daily Journal's Reader's Choice showing Daily Journal's Reader's Choice voting workflow

Disclosure: buyvotescontest.com is a vote-promotion service. This is independent, informational coverage of a public contest run by a third party; we are not affiliated with the organizer. Where our own services are relevant they are clearly labeled, and the contest's official rules always take precedence.

Who votes in Daily Journal's Reader's Choice and why the ballot matters

Daily Journal's Reader's Choice is a best-of public-vote program run by the Daily Journal for readers in Illinois. The ballot lives on the Daily Journal's Shaw Local page at https://www.shawlocal.com/daily-journal/readers-choice/. The program is a community choice award rather than a juried competition. Readers cast votes for local favorites across categories the live form presents. The Daily Journal is the publisher behind the ballot, and the Shaw Local address hosts the page. The published page does not name a city for this program, so this description speaks about Illinois and the Daily Journal and does not attach the ballot to a town or county.

The voting window for the 2026 edition stayed open until January 18, 2026. The previous winners list on the same page points to the 2024 edition. Those two dates are the only dated facts published for this program. The recurrence field marks the program as annual, with a next expected edition in 2027. Day-level opening dates for future rounds are not published; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

FieldDetail
ProgramDaily Journal's Reader's Choice
OrganizerDaily Journal
PlatformOrganizer's own site
Voting URLhttps://www.shawlocal.com/daily-journal/readers-choice/
StateIllinois
Verticalbest-of
Mechanicpublic-vote
Edition years2024, 2026
2026 voting closeJanuary 18, 2026

Readers who want to support a business on the ballot often ask how the vote works. The live form alone lists the categories open in the current cycle. The published page does not carry a category list, a ceiling on votes, or a set of eligibility conditions. How many categories run, and how often one person may vote, is not stated; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

The program sits in the best-of vertical, which groups it with other readers' choice and community favorite ballots. The mechanic is public-vote, meaning the outcome depends on votes cast by the public rather than a panel. The page title invites readers to enter to win and see results. The masthead carries a Shaw Local News Network copyright line. Those details place the program inside a local newspaper's reader engagement work.

For anyone new to a public ballot, the safest habit is to start at the Daily Journal's own page and read the instructions on the live form. The published page does not promise a particular outcome, and it does not state who may vote or how many times. Confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

The 2024 and 2026 editions and the January voting window

Daily Journal's Reader's Choice has confirmed edition years in 2024 and 2026. The 2024 edition appears on the page as Previous Winners 2024 Daily Journal's Reader's Choice Winners. The 2026 edition is the other confirmed year. The page says voting was open until January 18, 2026, and it invites readers to stay tuned for the 2026 winners. Those are the dated facts the organizer publishes.

The program runs annually. The recurrence field points to a next expected edition in 2027. The timing data places the voting phase in January, with a start month of January and an end month of January. The exact day the 2026 voting opened is not stated. Only the close date, January 18, 2026, appears in the published text. For the next round, confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

A January window fits a readers' choice program that follows the previous year's local business coverage. The 2024 winners list gives readers a benchmark for the kinds of businesses that appear. The 2026 round then asks readers to vote again. The page does not list the categories that ran in 2024 or 2026. It does not list a ceiling on votes or a set of eligibility conditions. Those details live on the live form.

The 2026 winners are not dated on the published page. The page only says Stay tuned for our 2026 winners and asks readers to click the image above to view. That means the winners may appear after the voting close date, but the announcement date is not published. Confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

Readers who want to understand the schedule should treat January as the voting month and check the live page for the exact days. The 2024 edition and the 2026 edition are the confirmed years. No other year is named for this program on the published page. An annual best-of vote lets local businesses return to the same reader audience. The Daily Journal's own site carries the ballot, so the publisher controls the schedule. The program does not route through a separate voting service. That keeps the voting page close to the newspaper's local coverage. The 2026 close date, January 18, 2026, is the only day-level date published. The 2024 winners label is the only previous winners year named.

How the public vote works on the Daily Journal's own site

The Daily Journal hosts Daily Journal's Reader's Choice directly. The voting URL is https://www.shawlocal.com/daily-journal/readers-choice/. A separate polling service does not handle the ballot. The mechanic is public-vote. That means readers cast the deciding votes. The Daily Journal's own site carries the form, the instructions, and the results.

The published page does not describe a round structure beyond the January voting window. It does not list platform round dates. It does not carry a promotion for this market. The page does not state whether voting is free, whether a purchase is required, or whether one person may vote more than once. Those details are unpublished. Confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

A supporter who wants to take part should follow a simple sequence. First, open the Daily Journal's voting URL directly. Second, read the live form's instructions. Third, choose picks in the categories the form presents. Fourth, submit the ballot using the on-screen control. Fifth, return to the same page later for the winners list. The live form alone shows the current categories and any per-person limit.

For general guidance on encouraging votes without breaking an organizer's rules, see how to get more votes online. For questions about whether vote buying is legal, see is buying votes legal. Those pages discuss general principles. The Daily Journal's own rules, if any, appear on the live ballot or in terms linked from it.

The program's public-vote mechanic also means the outcome depends on turnout. Readers who follow the Daily Journal's local coverage are the natural audience. The page does not publish a turnout figure or a vote total. It does not publish a category count. It does not publish a ceiling on votes. Those gaps are why the live form matters. Confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

Reading the results and the previous winners list

Daily Journal's Reader's Choice publishes a previous winners list. The published page names the 2024 edition under the label Previous Winners 2024 Daily Journal's Reader's Choice Winners. The 2026 edition is the other confirmed year. The page says voting was open until January 18, 2026, and it invites readers to stay tuned for the 2026 winners. The exact announcement date for those winners is not published.

Readers who want to see results should return to the Daily Journal's own page at https://www.shawlocal.com/daily-journal/readers-choice/. The page asks readers to click the image above to view the 2026 winners. That instruction is the only pointer to the results. The page does not carry a separate results archive.

The 2024 winners list gives a sense of the program's history. It is the only previous winners year named on the page. The 2026 round is the current confirmed edition. The next expected edition is 2027. The program runs annually. Day-level dates for the 2027 round are not published; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

For general information about award vote buying questions, see buy award votes. For a broader look at buying votes online, see buy votes online. Those pages are general references. The Daily Journal's own terms, if any, govern the Reader's Choice ballot. The published page does not state whether paid voting is allowed or banned.

The results page also matters for businesses that appear on the ballot. A strong finish can signal local support. The published page does not state how winners are selected beyond the public vote. It does not state whether there is a judging round. The public-vote mechanic is the only selection detail published. Confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

Other Illinois best-of ballots in the same family

Daily Journal's Reader's Choice belongs to a group of Illinois best-of public votes. Other programs in the same family include BAGI Parade of Homes People's Choice, Sauk Valley Favorites, Best of Chicago (Chicago Reader), Chicago Style Weddings Best Of, CommunityVotes Peoria IL, and CommunityVotes Rockford. Each runs its own ballot under its own organizer.

The Daily Journal program is separate from those siblings. It has its own voting URL on the Shaw Local site. It has its own confirmed edition years, 2024 and 2026. It has its own January voting window. A reader who wants to vote in more than one Illinois best-of program should visit each organizer's own page. The live ballot for each program is the authority on that program's categories and rules.

These sibling programs show that readers' choice ballots are common across Illinois. They do not share a single voting platform. The Daily Journal uses its own site. The other programs may use their own sites or other hosts. The Daily Journal program's rules stand apart from those ballots. It only lists them as related Illinois best-of public votes. For any of them, confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

Businesses that appear in Daily Journal's Reader's Choice may also appear in other local ballots. The programs do not publish a shared category list. They do not publish a shared ceiling on votes. A supporter should treat each ballot separately. The Daily Journal's ballot lives at its own URL, and the live form there is the only place to see its current categories.

For general help with public votes, the site's guide to getting more votes online and its page on vote buying legality cover common questions. Those resources are not part of the Daily Journal program. They are general references for readers who want to understand how public ballots work.

How to vote in Daily Journal's Reader's Choice

  1. 1

    Open the official ballot

    Go to the voting page at https://www.shawlocal.com/daily-journal/readers-choice/ and read the current instructions. The Daily Journal hosts the ballot, so use that address directly instead of clicking a link that might point elsewhere.

  2. 2

    Review the categories on the live form

    The live form lists the categories open in the current cycle. The published page does not carry a category list, so read the headings on the ballot itself and confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

  3. 3

    Make your selections

    Choose your picks in each category the form presents. The number of categories and whether you may vote in all of them is not stated; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

  4. 4

    Submit your ballot

    Follow the on-screen submit control. The published page does not name a ceiling on votes or a per-day limit, so check the form's own instructions before you send your choices.

  5. 5

    Check the results page later

    After voting closes, return to the same organizer page for the winners list. The 2026 round stayed open until January 18, 2026, and the page invites readers to stay tuned for the 2026 winners.

Daily Journal's Reader's Choice — frequently asked questions

12 answers covering legality, delivery, quality, pricing and platform specifics.

Process & delivery

Can I buy votes for Daily Journal's Reader's Choice?
The program is a public vote run by the Daily Journal on its own site. The published page does not state whether paid voting is allowed or banned. For the organizer's rules, read the live ballot and any terms linked there. A general look at award vote buying questions is at /buy-award-votes/.
When does Daily Journal's Reader's Choice voting open?
The 2026 edition's voting stayed open until January 18, 2026. The published timing shows January as the voting month, but a day-level opening date is not stated. For the next round, watch the organizer's page and confirm on the live ballot each cycle.
Is Daily Journal's Reader's Choice legitimate?
The ballot is run by the Daily Journal, a local newspaper, at the newspaper's own Shaw Local page. Two confirmed edition years exist, 2024 and 2026. Legitimacy questions usually turn on the organizer's published rules, so read the live ballot and its terms. The page does not carry a separate rules document.
How can supporters boost a Daily Journal's Reader's Choice entry?
Share the official ballot link with people who already follow the Daily Journal and the businesses you support. Ask them to vote on the live form. The published page does not carry a per-person limit, so read the form's own instructions. A general guide to getting more votes online is at /how-to/get-more-votes-online/.
Who runs Daily Journal's Reader's Choice?
The Daily Journal runs the program. The ballot sits at shawlocal.com on the Daily Journal's own page. The Shaw Local address hosts it. The program is a best-of public vote for Illinois readers, and the published page does not name a host city.
Where does the Daily Journal's Reader's Choice ballot live?
The ballot lives at https://www.shawlocal.com/daily-journal/readers-choice/. The Daily Journal hosts it directly instead of routing through a separate voting service. Type that address into the browser yourself. The page invites readers to enter to win and see results.
What are the categories in Daily Journal's Reader's Choice?
The published page does not carry a category list. The live form alone shows the categories open in the current cycle. The number of categories and any per-person voting limit are not published. Confirm on the live ballot each cycle.
What is the per-person voting limit for Daily Journal's Reader's Choice?
The published page does not state a ceiling on how often one supporter may vote, nor a per-day rule. The live form is where any limit would appear. Read the form's own instructions before you submit. Confirm on the live ballot each cycle.
Is voting free in Daily Journal's Reader's Choice?
The published page does not state whether voting is free or requires a purchase. The live ballot and any linked terms are the place to check. The program is a public vote run by the Daily Journal. Confirm on the live ballot each cycle.
When are Daily Journal's Reader's Choice winners announced?
The page says voting was open until January 18, 2026, and invites readers to stay tuned for the 2026 winners. The previous winners list points to the 2024 edition. The exact announcement date for the 2026 winners is not published; confirm on the live ballot each cycle.
What happened in the 2024 edition of Daily Journal's Reader's Choice?
The 2024 edition appears on the page as Previous Winners 2024 Daily Journal's Reader's Choice Winners. That is the only previous winners year named on the published page. The 2026 edition is the other confirmed year. Details about the 2024 ballot are not published beyond the winners label.
Can I see the 2026 winners yet?
The page says Stay tuned for our 2026 winners and asks readers to click the image above to view. Voting was open until January 18, 2026. Whether the winners are posted now depends on the live page, so confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

Sources

Last reviewed June 2026. Contest dates, rules and vote caps change each season — always confirm the current rules on the official contest page before you vote.

From the blog — guides & case studies

Practical guides, technical deep-dives, and anonymized case studies.60+ articles. Selection rotates.

Victor Williams — founder of Buyvotescontest.com
Victor Williams
Online · usually replies in 5 min

Hi 👋 — drop your contest URL and I'll send a price quote within an hour. No card needed yet.