Skip to main content

2026 The Ruthies Community's Choice Awards: How Voting Works & How to Win

Unlike CommunityVotes Chattanooga, which answers to a different publisher, the Ruthies Community's Choice Awards belongs to the Murfreesboro Daily News Journal and runs on Second Street. The 2026 cycle opened with nominations May 8-29, 2026, then a voting round July 17-31, 2026. Editions run from 2023 through 2026, and the ballot is anchored to Murfreesboro, Tennessee.

Run by: Murfreesboro Daily News Journal Cadence: annual
Thematic photo for 2026 The Ruthies Community's Choice Awards showing 2026 The Ruthies Community's Choice Awards voting workflow

Disclosure: buyvotescontest.com is a vote-promotion service. This is independent, informational coverage of a public contest run by a third party; we are not affiliated with the organizer. Where our own services are relevant they are clearly labeled, and the contest's official rules always take precedence.

What the Ruthies are and who runs them

The Ruthies Community's Choice Awards is a readers' choice ballot for the Murfreesboro, Tennessee market, run by the Murfreesboro Daily News Journal. The 2026 edition sits on Second Street, the platform the Daily News Journal uses for its whole contest calendar, and the ballot lives under the paper's dnj.gannettcontests.com domain. The program's vertical is best-of: local businesses, organizations and individuals are nominated and then voted on by the public, which places it in the same broad family as the Times Free Press program in Chattanooga or Cityview Best of the Best (Knoxville), though each of those answers to a different publisher.

What separates the Ruthies inside that family is its two-stage shape. The organizer runs a nomination round first, then opens a voting round for the top companies in each category. That sequence comes from the organizer's own program page for Murfreesboro, which introduces the nomination stage with the line "It all begins with nominations."

The market label attached to the ballot is Murfreesboro, TN, and the state attached to the program is Tennessee. No county is named anywhere in connection with the program, and the ballot is anchored to the Daily News Journal's own readership rather than to a statewide roster of towns.

FieldDetail
Program2026 The Ruthies Community's Choice Awards
OrganizerMurfreesboro Daily News Journal
PlatformSecond Street
Ballot URLdnj.gannettcontests.com/2026-The-Ruthies-Communitys-Choice-Awards
MarketMurfreesboro, Tennessee
Verticalbest-of, business
Mechanicpublic vote, two stages

The promotion type listed on the platform is Ballot/VotingBallot, a plain public vote. That matters on this domain, because several neighbouring promotions run by the same organizer, such as the Get Kalahari'd Away Fall 2026 sweepstakes, are entry drawings rather than votes, and a reader landing on the wrong page could mistake one for the other.

The dated record for the Ruthies, 2023 to 2026

Four editions of the Ruthies are confirmed, spanning 2023 through 2026. Each edition carries its own set of pages on the Daily News Journal's contest domain, including a nomination page and a winners page, and the 2023 ballot also appears under the organizer's secondstreetapp.com address. The program is annual, and the organizer's own coverage of the 2025 edition describes the Ruthies as hosted annually by the Daily News Journal, honoring outstanding local businesses, organizations and individuals based on community nominations and votes.

The 2026 cycle has two dated stages. The nomination round ran May 8-29, 2026. The voting round then ran July 17-31, 2026, and the platform listing for the ballot shows it open through August 1, 2026, with the promotion now closed. Both stages sit inside a span the platform dates from 2023-02-15 through 2026-08-01 across the program's editions, which is why the Ruthies read as a mid-summer ballot rather than a spring one.

Not everything about the cycle is published. The Daily News Journal has not printed the 2026 category roster or any per-supporter voting rule on the ballot page; confirm on the live ballot each cycle. No 2027 dates have been announced either, so the next expected edition is a reasonable inference from the annual pattern, not a posted fact.

For a reader checking a specific year, the winners pages are the fastest route: separate addresses exist for the 2023, 2024 and 2025 results, and the 2026 winners page follows the same naming pattern as its predecessors.

How a supporter votes on the Ruthies ballot

Voting in the Ruthies is a two-step experience spread over the summer. A supporter who wants a particular Murfreesboro business on the final ballot starts during the nomination round, which in 2026 ran May 8-29. Nominations happen on the organizer's own nomination page, a separate address from the voting ballot, and the organizer's copy frames this stage as the true start of the program.

Once nominations close, the top companies in each category move on to the voting round. In 2026 that round ran July 17-31 on the Second Street ballot at dnj.gannettcontests.com. A supporter opens the ballot, works through the categories, and selects the business, organization or individual they want in each one, then submits. The ballot is a Ballot/VotingBallot promotion, so the action is a vote rather than an entry or a purchase.

Two practical details are not stated on the ballot page. Whether the Ruthies require an account or an email to submit a vote is not printed, and neither is any rule about returning on consecutive days. Both behaviors are common on Second Street ballots, but the Daily News Journal has not published its version for this promotion, so the voting screen during a live round is the only authoritative source.

After the round closes, results move to a winners page. The 2026 ballot is closed as of early September 2026, so a supporter arriving now is between cycles: the useful action is watching for the next nomination round, which by the 2026 pattern would be expected in May, though the organizer has not posted 2027 dates.

How the Ruthies sit beside their Tennessee neighbours

Tennessee carries six sibling programs on this site, and the Ruthies differ from every one of them in publisher, platform or shape. The BroadwayWorld Memphis Awards and the BroadwayWorld Nashville Awards belong to a theatre publisher and run in two separate cities; the Ruthies belong to a daily newspaper and anchor a single market, Murfreesboro. CommunityVotes Chattanooga shares the nominate-then-vote rhythm but answers to a different organizer entirely.

The Times Free Press ballot in Chattanooga is the closest structural cousin, since both are newspaper-run best-of programs, but it serves the Chattanooga market rather than Murfreesboro and runs under that paper's own operation. Cityview Best of the Best (Knoxville) is a magazine product in a different media family, and the Knoxville HBA Parade of Homes is a builder-focused program rather than a general readers' choice ballot at all.

Within that set, the Ruthies' distinguishing feature is the explicit two-stage calendar with named dates for both stages: nominations May 8-29, voting July 17-31 in 2026. Several siblings run a single combined round; the Ruthies split them, which gives businesses two separate moments to mobilize supporters and gives voters a shorter, more concentrated voting window in July.

Readers comparing programs should also note the platform split: the Ruthies run on Second Street under a Gannett contest domain, while the 2023 edition additionally appeared on the organizer's secondstreetapp.com address. None of the six siblings shares that exact hosting arrangement, which is one more reason a Ruthies campaign is planned around its own calendar rather than borrowed from another Tennessee ballot.

Strengthening support during a Ruthies round

The Ruthies' short July voting window is the fact that shapes any support campaign. In 2026 the round ran July 17-31, so a business had roughly two weeks to convert customers into voters, after a May nomination stage that already required attention. Campaigns that plan around both dates, rather than discovering the ballot mid-round, start their ask during nominations and keep momentum into July.

The Daily News Journal has posted no rules document for the Ruthies, so there is no stated policy from the organizer on outside help, vote purchasing or automated voting for this ballot. That silence cuts both ways: nothing printed permits it, and nothing printed forbids it, which is why any decision should rest on the live ballot's own terms. Our votes overview explains what purchased participation is in general terms without promising outcomes for this or any ballot.

What is fully within a business's control is ordinary outreach: telling customers the ballot address, naming the categories worth a vote, and reminding them before July 31. Those tactics cost nothing and never touch the organizer's rules, and they are the same fundamentals covered in our guide to earning more votes online, adapted here to a two-stage, mid-summer newspaper ballot.

How to vote in 2026 The Ruthies Community's Choice Awards

  1. 1

    Open the 2026 Ruthies ballot

    Go to the ballot page for 2026 The Ruthies Community's Choice Awards on dnj.gannettcontests.com. The 2026 voting round closed July 31, 2026, so during the live window the same address carries the open ballot.

  2. 2

    Start with nominations in May

    Each cycle begins with nominations. For 2026 the nomination round ran May 8-29, and the organizer's program page describes it with the line "It all begins with nominations."

  3. 3

    Vote in the July round

    After nominations close, the top companies in each category move on to the voting round. In 2026 that round ran July 17-31, 2026, on the Second Street ballot.

  4. 4

    Pick a category and a business

    Work through the categories on the ballot and select the Murfreesboro-area business, organization or individual you want to support in each one.

  5. 5

    Submit and follow the winners

    Submit your picks before the round closes. The Daily News Journal publishes a winners page for each edition, so results for 2023 through 2025 are already posted under their own addresses.

2026 The Ruthies Community's Choice Awards — frequently asked questions

9 answers covering legality, delivery, quality, pricing and platform specifics.

Legality & scope

Is paying for Ruthies votes against the rules or illegal?
No law in Tennessee prohibits paying for contest votes; what governs is the organizer's own rule set. The Daily News Journal has posted no rules document for the Ruthies ballot, so any outside-help policy is not stated there. Our overview of the legal position covers this in full at <a href="/trust/is-buying-votes-legal/">is buying votes legal</a>.

Process & delivery

Can votes be purchased for the Ruthies ballot in Murfreesboro?
The 2026 voting round closed July 31, 2026, so there is no live ballot to purchase votes into right now. In an open cycle, purchased votes are a service some campaigns use; what the Daily News Journal's own rules permit for the Ruthies does not appear on the ballot page. See <a href="/buy-award-votes/">award vote options</a> for context.
When does Ruthies voting open in Murfreesboro?
For 2026, nominations ran May 8-29 and the voting round ran July 17-31. The Daily News Journal has not announced dates for the next edition, so the 2027 window is unknown until the organizer posts it.
How can a business earn more support in the Ruthies?
Support that works on this ballot is the ordinary kind: ask customers during the voting round, remind them the window is short, and make the ballot address easy to find. Our guide on <a href="/how-to/get-more-votes-online/">getting more votes online</a> walks through campaign tactics that fit a short July window like the Ruthies'.
What are the categories in the Ruthies ballot?
The organizer has not printed a category roster on the 2026 ballot page. The program's own description says top companies in each category move from nominations to voting, so categories exist, but the full list is only visible on the live ballot during a round.
Is there a limit on repeat voting in the Ruthies?
No per-supporter limit is stated anywhere on the Ruthies ballot page. Whatever daily or one-time rule Second Street enforces for this Daily News Journal promotion applies only when the ballot is live, so check the voting screen during the July round.
Who won the Ruthies in past years?
The Daily News Journal posts a winners page for each edition, with separate addresses for 2023, 2024 and 2025. Which businesses and individuals took each category is listed on those pages rather than on the voting ballot itself.

Service quality

Is the Ruthies Community's Choice Awards legitimate?
Yes. It is a long-running program of the Murfreesboro Daily News Journal with confirmed editions from 2023 through 2026, a real Second Street ballot, and published winners pages for past years. Nothing about its setup resembles a sweepstakes dressed up as a vote.

Platform specifics

Which organization runs the Ruthies Awards in Murfreesboro?
The Murfreesboro Daily News Journal runs the program. The ballot sits on Second Street under the paper's dnj.gannettcontests.com domain, and the organizer is listed on that platform as the Daily News Journal's contest operation.

Sources

Last reviewed June 2026. Contest dates, rules and vote caps change each season — always confirm the current rules on the official contest page before you vote.

From the blog — guides & case studies

Practical guides, technical deep-dives, and anonymized case studies.60+ articles. Selection rotates.

Victor Williams — founder of Buyvotescontest.com
Victor Williams
Online · usually replies in 5 min

Hi 👋 — drop your contest URL and I'll send a price quote within an hour. No card needed yet.