Skip to main content

Readers' Choice 2025: How Voting Works & How to Win

The Daily Times, the newspaper based in Maryville, Tennessee, runs Readers' Choice 2025 on the Second Street platform. The 2025 promotion was listed as a nomination and voting ballot running from March 1 through April 30, 2025, and the organizer's own voting notice asked supporters to return every day and vote once per day per category. The program has confirmed editions from 2019 through 2025. Whether it carries a formal prize structure or eligibility terms is something supporters confirm on the live ballot each cycle.

Run by: The Daily Times Cadence: annual
Thematic photo for Readers' Choice 2025 showing Readers' Choice 2025 voting workflow

Disclosure: buyvotescontest.com is a vote-promotion service. This is independent, informational coverage of a public contest run by a third party; we are not affiliated with the organizer. Where our own services are relevant they are clearly labeled, and the contest's official rules always take precedence.

Who votes in Readers' Choice and why it matters in Maryville

Readers' Choice 2025 is the annual readers' ballot run by The Daily Times, a newspaper based in Maryville, Tennessee. It belongs to a familiar format in local journalism: the paper opens a public vote, its readers nominate and then support the local businesses, services and people they consider the best in their field, and the paper publishes the results as a community guide. For a nominated business, a strong showing is social proof from actual customers; for a reader, it is a way to reward a favorite spot.

The ballot lives on the Second Street platform, at thedailytimes.secondstreetapp.com, which is the same host the newspaper uses for the rest of its promotion calendar. That host also carries a pastor appreciation gallery, monthly first responder and teacher ballots, a weekly football pick contest and a groceries sweepstakes, so a reader who follows one Daily Times promotion will recognize the address and the interface of all of them.

The audience is the paper's own readership in and around Maryville. That gives the ballot a distinctly local character: the winners are decided by people who live with the businesses they vote for, not by a statewide or national panel. It also means the competition is concentrated, since every nominee is drawing from the same pool of daily readers. A program of this shape rewards the nominees who can turn their regular customers into daily voters, which is exactly what the organizer's voting rule asks for.

Readers' Choice 2025 at a glance
FieldDetail
ProgramReaders' Choice 2025
OrganizerThe Daily Times, Maryville, Tennessee
PlatformSecond Street
Ballot URLthedailytimes.secondstreetapp.com/Readers-Choice-2025
FormatPublic vote, nomination and voting ballot
Status2025 cycle closed

The 2025 dates and the program's edition history

The 2025 promotion was listed on the Second Street host as a Ballot/NominationAndVotingBallot running from March 1 through April 30, 2025, and it is now closed. Within that listing, the organizer's own voting notice gave the finer-grained dates that mattered to voters: voting began on April 1 at 9am, and voting ended April 29th. The notice also carried the line that framed the whole campaign, "IT'S TIME TO VOTE for your favorites for the 2025 Readers' Choice Awards."

The program is not new. Confirmed editions of the Daily Times ballot run across seven years: 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 and finally 2025. Several of the earlier cycles are still reachable at their own addresses on the same host, including the 2019, 2020, 2023 and 2024 ballots. That unbroken stretch makes this one of the longer-running readers' choice programs among Tennessee newspaper contests, and it explains why local businesses treat a placement on it as an annual event rather than a one-time mention.

What the promotion listing does not carry is the fine print a strategist would also want. The Daily Times has not published eligibility terms or an overall vote ceiling alongside the daily rule; confirm on the live ballot each cycle. The category structure for any given cycle is likewise something a supporter reads off the live ballot page, because the paper refreshes the promotion for each edition rather than keeping a standing rules document.

How a supporter actually votes on the Daily Times ballot

The mechanic is simple and deliberately repetitive. The organizer's notice for the 2025 cycle instructed supporters to come back every day and vote once per day per category. In practice that means a supporter opens the ballot, scrolls to the category they care about, selects their favorite and submits. The next day, they return and do it again in the same category. Any single visit can also cover several categories, since the once-per-day limit is measured per category, not per session.

For a nominee, this rule defines what an effective campaign looks like. A single announcement on the day voting opens earns one vote per supporter and then stops. A business that reminds its customers every morning, by counter sign, receipt, email list or social post, collects the same supporter's vote thirty times across the month. Under a once-per-day-per-category structure, the difference between those two approaches is enormous, and it requires nothing more unusual than consistency.

The literal sequence a supporter follows is short: open the promotion on thedailytimes.secondstreetapp.com, confirm the ballot is open for the current cycle, choose a category, submit a vote, and set a reminder to return the next day until the closing date. Whether the form asks for an email or any sign-in is shown on the live page, and that page is the authority on anything the notice does not spell out, including any per-category or per-person conditions attached in a given year.

How this ballot sits among Tennessee's readers' choice contests

Readers' Choice 2025 is one entry in a busy Tennessee field of community-vote programs. Within the state, a supporter might also encounter the Chattanooga Times Free Press Best of the Best, the CommunityVotes Chattanooga ballot, the Cityview Best of the Best in Knoxville, the Knoxville HBA Parade of Homes, and the BroadwayWorld Memphis Awards and BroadwayWorld Nashville Awards in the theatre space. Each answers to a different publisher and runs on its own calendar.

What separates the Daily Times ballot from those neighbours is scale and market. The Chattanooga and Knoxville programs attach to larger metro areas, while this one is anchored to Maryville and the paper's immediate readership, which compresses the competition into a smaller pool of daily voters. Its host is also worth a moment: because Second Street carries the paper's whole promotion calendar, the ballot sits alongside recognisable local fixtures such as the teacher and first responder monthly ballots, which keeps a loyal audience returning to the same address year after year.

For a nominee weighing which contests matter, the practical question is where their customers already read. A Maryville-area business will usually find this ballot the most direct route to its own base, while a business with reach across multiple Tennessee markets has reasons to appear in several of the programs listed above. The vote rules differ from program to program, so the once-per-day-per-category habit described here should never be assumed to transfer; each ballot prints its own.

How to vote in Readers' Choice 2025

  1. 1

    Open the Readers' Choice 2025 ballot

    Go to thedailytimes.secondstreetapp.com and find the Readers' Choice promotion for the current cycle. The 2025 ballot lived at the Readers-Choice-2025 address on that host, so a supporter could reach it directly by typing the address into a browser rather than hunting through the newspaper site.

  2. 2

    Check the voting window before you start

    Confirm that the ballot is open. For the 2025 cycle the organizer's notice said voting began April 1 at 9am and ended April 29th, while the promotion itself was listed from March 1 through April 30. Only the dates printed on the live page apply to the current cycle.

  3. 3

    Pick a category

    Scroll the ballot to the category you want to support. The organizer's notice framed support as once per day per category, which means a category is one unit of voting and the ballot is worked through category by category rather than in a single sitting.

  4. 4

    Cast your vote for that day

    Choose your favorite in the category and submit. Because the rule is once per day per category, a supporter who wants maximum effect comes back the next day and votes in the same category again, and can also support additional categories during the same visit.

  5. 5

    Return every day until the ballot closes

    The organizer asked supporters to be sure to come back every day. Set a daily reminder that runs until the closing date shown on the live page, since votes cast after the ballot closes do not count toward the final tally.

Readers' Choice 2025 — frequently asked questions

11 answers covering legality, delivery, quality, pricing and platform specifics.

Legality & scope

Can I buy votes for Readers' Choice 2025?
The ballot itself costs nothing and any reader may take part; the organizer's own rule is one vote per day per category, so purchased votes sit outside the mechanic the newspaper designed. What is true of the ballot is that daily returns are what the organizer asks for. If you are weighing outside help anyway, read <a href="/buy-votes-online/">this overview of buying votes online</a> first, and <a href="/trust/is-buying-votes-legal/">whether buying votes is legal</a> for the organizer-side rules.

Process & delivery

When does Readers' Choice voting open?
For the 2025 cycle, the promotion was listed from March 1 through April 30, and the organizer's voting notice said voting began April 1 at 9am and ended April 29th. The dates for the next cycle are printed on the live ballot page each year, so check the current promotion rather than assuming the same dates recur.
What actually raises a nominee's vote count in Readers' Choice?
The mechanic itself rewards persistence: the organizer asks supporters to come back every day and vote once per day per category, so a business or nominee that reminds its customers daily collects far more support than one that asks once. For tactics that work within that structure, see <a href="/how-to/get-more-votes-online/">our votes guide</a>.
How many categories are on the Readers' Choice ballot?
A full published category list for the 2025 ballot was not carried in this guide's sources; confirm on the live ballot each cycle. What is known is that the organizer's voting notice treated categories as separate voting units under the once-per-day rule, so the ballot is worked through category by category.
Does the Daily Times ballot cap how often one person votes?
The organizer's own notice set the pace: vote once per day per category, returning every day while the ballot is open. That is the rule stated alongside the 2025 window. Whether any additional eligibility terms or overall caps exist beyond that daily pattern was not stated in this guide's sources.
Has Readers' Choice run before 2025?
Yes. Confirmed editions run across 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024 and 2025, with several earlier ballots still reachable at their own addresses on the same Second Street host. The program is therefore an established annual fixture for the paper rather than a one-off.
Do I need to register with The Daily Times to vote?
The organizer's published notice describes a simple daily routine, come back and vote once per day per category, without mentioning a subscription requirement. Whether the ballot asks for an email or other sign-in was not stated in this guide's sources, so treat whatever the live form requests as the current requirement.

Service quality

Is Readers' Choice 2025 legitimate?
Yes. It is a real readers' choice ballot run by The Daily Times, a newspaper based in Maryville, Tennessee, on the Second Street contest platform. The host has carried the promotion across seven confirmed edition years, from 2019 through 2025, which is a long operational history for a local newspaper program.

Platform specifics

Who runs the Readers' Choice program in Maryville?
The Daily Times runs it. The paper is a newspaper based in Maryville, Tennessee, and the ballot sits on the paper's Second Street account at thedailytimes.secondstreetapp.com next to its other local promotions. The program is the paper's readers' choice franchise, not a third-party award.
What is Second Street?
Second Street is the contest platform that hosts the ballot at thedailytimes.secondstreetapp.com. Newspapers use it to run readers' choice promotions, nomination rounds and voting rounds. The Daily Times keeps its full promotion calendar there, including this ballot and its other local contests.
What other contests does The Daily Times run?
The same Second Street host carries the paper's other local promotions, including a pastor appreciation gallery, first responder and teacher of the month ballots, a football pick contest and a sweepstakes. Those are separate programs with their own dates and rules, distinct from Readers' Choice.

Sources

Last reviewed June 2026. Contest dates, rules and vote caps change each season — always confirm the current rules on the official contest page before you vote.

From the blog — guides & case studies

Practical guides, technical deep-dives, and anonymized case studies.60+ articles. Selection rotates.

Victor Williams — founder of Buyvotescontest.com
Victor Williams
Online · usually replies in 5 min

Hi 👋 — drop your contest URL and I'll send a price quote within an hour. No card needed yet.